473,395 Members | 1,442 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,395 software developers and data experts.

DB2 Runtime Client

Hi,
I am new to IBM DB2 Databse.
Where can i get a download of the IBM DB2 Runtime Client
I am using DB2 Ver 8.1.4 for on Windows 2000 Server.

Also, is DB2 Connect the same as DB2 Runtime Client.

Thanks in Advance
Arnie
Nov 12 '05 #1
2 24333
On Sat, 27 Nov 2004 09:58:57 UTC, ar********@hotmail.com (Arnie)
wrote:
Hi,

Thanks in Advance
Arnie
Try the IBM ftp site
ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/ps/produc...client/runtime

--
Lorne Sunley
Nov 12 '05 #2
"Arnie" <ar********@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:29**************************@posting.google.c om...
Hi,

Thanks in Advance
Arnie

The DB2 clients (Runtime, Admin, and Application development) are free and
not the same as DB2 Connect. DB2 Connect is needed (or at least the license
is needed) when accessing a DB2 server on AS/400 or OS/390 from the DB2
Client. DB2 Connect is not needed to connect to DB2 for Linux, UNIX, or
Windows servers.

I would install the Fixpak 6a client (the last fixpak for version 8.1). The
Windows client fixpaks are full installs and do not require the base code
installed first.

Fixpak 7a is for version 8.2 and may not be compatible with your version 8.1
server.
http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...ownloadv8.html
Nov 12 '05 #3

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

by: sea | last post by:
I am unable to find the website where I can download the admin and runtime clients for 8.1 workgroup edition -- help please! Thank you again!
by: Raquel | last post by:
How do I know whether the 'runtime client' and the 'application development client' are installed on my machine? When I issue the command "db2licm -l", it gives the following output: Product...
by: sea | last post by: