473,545 Members | 1,118 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Search within a variable

Hi ! I'm new to Perl and this group so any help is welcome. I've
look around the groups a lot but I can't seems to find what I need.

I have to do a script that connects to a specific web page and search
it's source code for some words. Now, the script is able to connect
to the page, print the source on screen but when I try to search, it
seems like I don't have the right parameters.

Let's look :

----------------------------------------------------
#!c:\perl\bin\p erl.exe

use Win32::Internet ;
$Connection = Win32::Internet->new();

print "Content-type: text/plain\n\n\n";

$url = "http://www.mydomain.co m";

$INET = new Win32::Internet ();
$file = $INET->FetchURL("$url ");

print "Here's the web address : $url\n";
print "And here's the source code : \n\n\n$file\n\n ";
----------------------------------------------------

The content of the variable $file is the source code right !
I need to do a search within the $file variable.

I tried two things I found in a book :
$canvas->find("word") ;
$hostindex = $text->search(-nocase, -count => \$combien, word);

It doesn't work at all when I try to print the content. I need to
know how to specify the variable in which I want the search to be
done. I don't know if you guys can understand what I mean ...
Can anybody help please ?
Thanks a lot !
Jul 19 '05 #1
0 2262

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

by: phpkid | last post by:
Howdy I've been given conflicting answers about search engines picking up urls like: http://mysite.com/index.php?var1=1&var2=2&var3=3 Do search engines pick up these urls? I've been considering converting a site of mine to PHP-Nuke, but if the individual modules aren't picked up in search engines I'm not going to do it. Thanks phpKid
by: Compkitty | last post by: