473,385 Members | 1,907 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,385 software developers and data experts.

Best Programming Language

Hello There! Just want to ask if what is the best programming language that I can take up? I'm not a programmer in the first place, just recently I enrolled in computer school and take Software development course..subjects Included in the course outline are C, C++, C#, VB, SQL...For me, I think that its not enough what they are teaching...Because whenever I read some post in the discussion there are terminologies that I'm not familiar with...Or is C/C++ is a very broad language in which I have to concentrate on some topics...By the way, I'm presently enrolled in C language..haven't took the C++ yet...thanks
Sep 9 '06 #1
21 10955
risby
Just want to ask if what is the best programming language that I can take up?...By the way, I'm presently enrolled in C language..haven't took the C++ yet...thanks
Best isn't a concept you can use without context.

If you mean best in terms of getting a job then VB would probably fill this criterion better than C (but you'll get more interesting jobs using C).

C is probably the worst language to start learning programming. Pascal was specifically designed with teaching programming concepts in mind. Modula2 was its progeny introducing the nascent concept of object orientation. Java is more like C than Pascal in syntax but more like Pascal in helping you avoid errors. Any of these three would be better than C for a beginner.

Perl is better than C for string handling but is equally obtuse.

Assembly languages would be best for programming under severe memory and processor speed constraints but would require much longer in development time for any sizeable task.

APL would suit slightly whiffy mathematical geniuses with poor teeth and no outside interests or any live friends.