473,326 Members | 2,113 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,326 software developers and data experts.

need to write a simple web crawler

hai

i am a student and need to write a simple web crawler using python and need some guidance of how to start.. i need to crawl web pages using BFS and also DFS... one using stacks and other using queues...

i will try on the obsolete web pages only and so tht i can learn of how to do that.. i have taken a course called search engines and need some help in doing that...

help in any knind would be appreciated..

thank u
Sep 16 '06 #1
13 21670
kudos
127 Expert 100+
Its quite easy actually, you need one thing, one way to parse a html page (which is found in the python lib), and as you pointed out in your post, Breath first search (BFS) and depth first search (DFS). You also need some kind of structure to determine if you visited a certain page before (maybe a hash list?)

Lets assume that we use BFS, and use pythons list method, and that you start on a certain page (www.thescripts.com ?:)

hash = {}
stack = []
stack.push("www.thescripts.com")

while(len(stack) > 0):
currpage = stack.pop()
hash[currpage] = 1 # sets it to visited
links = findlinks(currpage) # this method finds all the links of the page
# here you can do what you would do, like finding some text, downloading
# some image etc etc
# push all the links on the stack
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.  for l in links:
  2.   if(hash[l] != 1):
  3.    stack.push(l)

This was strictly psuedo code, since I haven't got a python interpreter here. If you still need it, I could write you a simple crawler.

-kudos

hai

i am a student and need to write a simple web crawler using python and need some guidance of how to start.. i need to crawl web pages using BFS and also DFS... one using stacks and other using queues...