473,320 Members | 2,193 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,320 software developers and data experts.

Problems with FileSystemObject

Hi,

I'm really new to ASP and was following along with a tutorial in a book.
When dealing with the FileSystemObject component, I found that attempting to
use the fso.GetFile(path) method (where fso was set using the CreateObject
method, and path is set to the physical path of the file) was completely
hanging IIS, that I had to restart it to get anything going. PLacing traces
and breakpoints up to that point showed that this is the method causing the
hand. The folder in which this file resides has only about 10 files in it.

I'm running on Windows 2000 SP4 with IIS 5.0. I also have Norton AV 2002
installed and I tried disabling it in case it is the culprit. Same result.
All services that should be running appear to be in the correct (started)
state. I also have Zone Alarm Pro running, but both IIS and the browser are
running on the same machine, and the local host (127.0.0.1) is in the
Trusted Zone.

Any ideas on what mya be causing my problem?

Thanks
Jul 19 '05 #1
3 2560
This sounds like Norton is still the issue. See www.aspfaq.com/2180
"Waguih Boctor" <wb*****@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ev**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
Hi,

When dealing with the FileSystemObject component, I found that attempting to use the fso.GetFile(path) method (where fso was set using the CreateObject
hanging IIS, that I had to restart it to get anything going. PLacing traces and breakpoints up to that point showed that this is the method causing the hand. The folder in which this file resides has only about 10 files in it.

state. I also have Zone Alarm Pro running, but both IIS and the browser are running on the same machine, and the local host (127.0.0.1) is in the
Trusted Zone.

Thanks

Jul 19 '05 #2

Hi,