473,320 Members | 2,071 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,320 software developers and data experts.

How to send query to formated word document

southoz
Good ay all ,
I'm fairly new to access(a little over 5 weeks now). Since I'v started I have picked up a lot of useful information from forums such as this and in doing so will share that information with others. I have seen many request for information on mail merging an how to send data to word documents this is something I have put together with the answers given by others and I hope this will help a few newbies , I know there are easier ways (and a lot of the older members wil of cause have better answers) but once again this is from a newbie to newbies to help then get started. First of all I use a modified template for the word document this can be downloaded from the office template stite , I have modified the document by replacing the #100 text on the document with the word "INVOICE" ,second I have removed the merge fields and just replaced then with the text "name" (this will be explained later).
I have a form called Orders1 (the name of the form is ofcause self explanitory)
on the form I have a command button that asks if you want invoices or statements for this example I'll be using statements ( weekly statements), on activation of the statements form ( i use the Form_Open sub routine) I use the following code:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
  2. Dim xcount As Integer
  3. Dim thisdoc As Object
  4. Dim st As String
  5. Dim ct, cn As Integer
  7. On Error GoTo Err_Form_Open
  9. Me.clientname = Forms!Orders1!clientname.Value
  10. Me.street = Forms!Orders1!bstreet.Value
  11. Me.suburb = Forms!Orders1!Bsuburb.Value
  12. Me.state = Forms!Orders1!bstate.Value
  13. Me.postcode = Forms!Orders1!bpostcode.Value