473,396 Members | 1,666 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,396 software developers and data experts.

Table Relationships for a Report in Access 2003 DB

Going Crazy .....Help Required with Access 2003 DB

I am new to DB Access 2003 and i am having trouble generating a report from various tables, actually i have to generate a report based on three different tables and these tables have Date, Time, Unit, Operator in common but the other fields like Weight, Temperature, Laempe No', Machine No' and Mix No' n Readings come from other tables and while we have one value for all the other fields Readings has three values. I know it's kindda confusing ........but here is the problem........I have tried to make a query n add the diff. tables from where i want the data to go in the DB but when it comes to building relationships i get so lost , i dont know which relationships should i build so that my report gets the necessary data.I tried building relations and my DB didn't have any values and it gave some error aswell.

I need some expert help on this issue now. Any help will be highly appreciated .

Thanks in advance.
Feb 19 '07 #1
6 2302
So if I understand correctly all three tables have the fields Date, Time, Unit, and Operator in common.

If that is true you can link all the table together via the operator field.

What error are you getting? And, what is the report criteria?
Feb 19 '07 #2
MMcCarthy
14,534 Expert Mod 8TB
Have a look at this tutorial and come back with any questions.

Normalisation and Table structures

Instinctively I think you are duplicating fields that shouldn't be duplicated.

Mary
Feb 20 '07 #3