473,378 Members | 1,309 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,378 software developers and data experts.

newbie problems alignment in tables

Hi folks, I'm new to CSS and kind of lazy when it comes to coding, but I've tried to do this page by the book and it has a weird problem.

I've created a table with a particular background (specified by CSS) for certain cells. It looks great but when I put an IMG html in that cell, the background for that cell escapes the borders and is all out of alignment. The contents of the cell always seem to move to the top and the middle of the page. I'm checking everything works in IE6 and Firefox but this problem only occurs in IE6...

you can view the page at http://komosa.brinkster.net/shop2.html

the stylesheet is http://komosa.brinkster.net/content2.css

If anyone can figure out what causes this I'd very grateful! Maybe I need to set some alignment attributes for IMG....

Ian
Mar 4 '07 #1
7 1949
drhowarddrfine
7,435 Expert 4TB
First, you will never get IE6 to pretend it's a modern browser without a proper doctype. See the sticky at the top of this board. Use html4 strict.

Then validate your html and css for any errors reported there.

As a final note, you need to get in the habit of using lower case in your markup. HTML doesn't care but CSS and, later, xhtml does.
Mar 4 '07 #2
ok thanks for those pointers, I'll look into those issues
Mar 5 '07 #3
I looked into the doctype thing and it made things look slightly different but didn't solve the weird alignment problem. Does anyone have any other pointers?
Mar 5 '07 #4
drhowarddrfine
7,435 Expert 4TB
Of course, things changed. You didn't specify which set of rules you were using. By using a doctype, the rules were changed from 'quirks' (ala 1998) to modern standards. But you must establish the rules so all browsers are on the same 'page' before you can fix things.