473,412 Members | 2,277 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,412 software developers and data experts.

complex form operations?

AccessIdiot
493 256MB
Please forgive as I am an Access and VB newbie.

For what it's worth, here is my complete setup. Maybe it will help or maybe it will just confuse but I'll outline it anyway.

I have a main form that has 3 buttons. Each button opens the same form (frm_Survey) but passes a different string to the form. When a button is clicked the main form is closed to prevent the user from pressing another button. The form that is opened is frm_Survey. The string that is passed from the button via OpenArgs is concatenated with an integer that the user enters in an unbound textbox on frm_Survey and that value is put in the table (tbl_Survey) and also populates a disabled field (txt_SuveyNumID).

So for example, the user hits the "Trawl" on the main form. The main form closes, frm_Survey opens, and 'TR' is passed to frm_Survey. On frm_Survey the user types in "2" and in txt_SurveyNumID you would see "TR2" which also gets entered into SurveyNum field of tbl_SurveyNum.

There is a button on frm_Survey that launches frm_Replicate. The concatenated field from frm_Survey (txt_SurveyNumID) should also show up on frm_Replicate (getting passed by OpenArgs) and be entered into the table that feeds frm_Replicate (tbl_Replicate - they are linked by a one to many relationship: one survey can have many replicates).