473,422 Members | 1,768 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,422 software developers and data experts.

Add/Subtract Minutes to/from a date

Hello All,

I am very new to Python and Oracle, and I have a question for you all. How do you add/subtract minutes to a date? Is this possible? I need to add/subtract 30 minutes (or 60, or 90, etc) to/from a user-defined date-and-time, and then select based on that date-and-time-range. So, if I have a date looking like '2002-03-14 17:42:00', 'YYYY-MM-DD HH24:MI:SS', is there a way to add 30 minutes to it to get the right-side of the time range, etc (as in '...17:12:00' to '...18:12:00')?

Thanks in advance for any guidance!
Apr 4 '07 #1
2 19798
ghostdog74
511 Expert 256MB
Hello All,

I am very new to Python and Oracle, and I have a question for you all. How do you add/subtract minutes to a date? Is this possible? I need to add/subtract 30 minutes (or 60, or 90, etc) to/from a user-defined date-and-time, and then select based on that date-and-time-range. So, if I have a date looking like '2002-03-14 17:42:00', 'YYYY-MM-DD HH24:MI:SS', is there a way to add 30 minutes to it to get the right-side of the time range, etc (as in '...17:12:00' to '...18:12:00')?

Thanks in advance for any guidance!
you can refer to the time module. here's an example
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. >>> import time
  2. >>> c = time.strptime("2002-03-14 17:42:00","%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")
  3. >>> t = time.mktime(c)
  4. >>> t
  5. 1016098920.0
  6. >>> t = t + 1800 #30 minutes is 1800 secs
  7. >>> t
  8. 1016100720.0
  9. >>> time.strftime("%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S",time.localtime(t))
  10. '2002-03-14 18:12:00'
Apr 4 '07 #2
jld730
Awesome!! Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you! That works!
Apr 4 '07 #3

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

by: Adrian | last post by: