473,466 Members | 2,016 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Create Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Visual Studio 2003 HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error

Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
The following article is directed at people who are experiencing an HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error while using Visual Studio 2003.

The error message typically sounds something like:
The web server reported the following error when attempting to create or open the Web Project located at the Following URL:http://localhost/Webapplication1’.HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error’.
This error tends to rear it's ugly head when you're creating a new project after you've done a Windows Update or fresh Windows install. I'm not 100% sure why this error happens but it is quite common and can be quite frustrating to solve. What I think happens is that the .NET Framework is updated but isn't configured properly.

For instance:
  • After a fresh Windows install, .NET Framework 1.0 and the ASPNET user account is created to work with this Framework.
  • Then you go through all the Windows updates...which installs .NET Framework version 1.1 (and later versions), but the ASPNET user isn't updated to know how to use the newest version.

Keep in mind that if you are using Visual Studio 2003 to implement a web application, it uses the .NET Framework version 1.1. This means that if your server is configured to use version 2.0 (or later), you will encounter this error.

So, in trouble shooting this problem you should first check that you have .NET Framework 1.1 installed properly on your web server.

You can do this by:
  1. Opening Control Pannel
  2. Open Administrative Tools
  3. Open Internet Information Services
  4. Expand all the folders and find the "Default Web Site" folder (should look like a globe with a hand under it)
  5. Right click on the "Default Web Site" and select Properties
  6. Click the ASP .NET tab
  7. Select the proper ASP .NET version (Version 1.1)
  8. Click apply.

If this doesn't solve your problem you'll have to take some additional steps to re-create the ASPNET user account.

To fix this you'll need to recreate the ASPNET user and re-registered the .NET Framework version that you are using.

To do this:
  1. delete the ASPNET Windows user
  2. open a cmd window
  3. go to the directory where your Framework 1.1 is installed
    (this is likely in your C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v1.1.4322)
  4. type: aspnet_regiis -i
    (this will re-register the Framework 1.1 and reinstall your ASPNET user so that it works properly)

After you've done this, reboot and then double check that your IIS is still set up to use the .NET Framework 1.1.

Please note that you can still have .NET Framework versions that are newer than version 1.1 still installed on the computer, the important thing is that your IIS (and ASPNET user) is configured to use this version instead of any other version while implementing projects with Visual Studio 2003.

Hopefully this helped you.
Good luck with your future projects,

Cheers!

-Frinny
May 11 '07 #1
16 27860
nitinmishra82
1 New Member
thanx alot my problem is solved after i deleted aspnet user account and recreated that as told above
thanx
nitin
Jul 14 '07 #2
Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
thanx alot my problem is solved after i deleted aspnet user account and recreated that as told above
thanx
nitin
Good Stuff!
Glad to have helped :)
Jul 16 '07 #3
Motoma
3,237 Recognized Expert Specialist
Excellent post. I have had issues with this in the past; I managed to solve them, but never figured out the source of the problem.
Jul 16 '07 #4
bharathreddy
111 New Member
hai Frinavale ,

Very Nice Article. I faced the same problem.
Jul 19 '07 #5
rejumgeorge
1 New Member
Nice Stuff, it really helped
Jul 24 '07 #6
user316
1 New Member
I've tried all that was posted above and I am still getting the same error. Any other suggestions?
Nov 26 '07 #7
Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
I've tried all that was posted above and I am still getting the same error. Any other suggestions?
Try deleting the ASPNET user again, then reboot the computer before reinstalling the .NET Framework 1.1

Get back to us if you're still having problems.

-Frinny
Nov 27 '07 #8
keerthp
2 New Member
Hi Frinavale

Thanks a lot!!!
From morning, I was trying to resolve the error. Finally your post helped me a lot. Once again Thanks!
Feb 13 '08 #9
keerthp
2 New Member
Try deleting the ASPNET user again, then reboot the computer before reinstalling the .NET Framework 1.1

Get back to us if you're still having problems.

-Frinny
Hi Frinny

I'm still getting the same error. Can u help me with resolving the error?
Feb 13 '08 #10
Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
Hi Frinny

I'm still getting the same error. Can u help me with resolving the error?
Hi Keerthp,

Check your IIS and make sure that it is running with .NET Framework 1.1.
If it isn't change it so that it is and then follow the steps wherein you delete your ASPNET user account...try reinstalling at that point.

-Frinny
Feb 13 '08 #11
ThomasLa36
3 New Member
Hi Keerthp,

Check your IIS and make sure that it is running with .NET Framework 1.1.
If it isn't change it so that it is and then follow the steps wherein you delete your ASPNET user account...try reinstalling at that point.

-Frinny
How do I delete my ASPNET user account? What directory is it in and what file is it? I tried reinstalling still getting 500 server error message. I also have Visual Studio 2005 and Visual Studio 2008 Trial Editions installed is that a problem with Visual Studio 2003 Professional Edition?

ThomasLa36
Mar 19 '08 #12
Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
How do I delete my ASPNET user account? What directory is it in and what file is it? I tried reinstalling still getting 500 server error message. I also have Visual Studio 2005 and Visual Studio 2008 Trial Editions installed is that a problem with Visual Studio 2003 Professional Edition?

ThomasLa36
There shouldn't be any problem with you having more than one VS version installed on the same computer. You have to make sure that your IIS is set up to run with the Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 in order to use VS 2003.

To delete the ASPNET user:
  • Open Control Panel
  • Open User Accounts
  • Find ASPNET and click the Remove button

Then make sure you go to your .NET Framework version 1.1 folder and run the aspnet_regiis -i.

Just be aware that you may run into problems running your VS 2005 and VS 2008 web projects on the IIS after you run the aspnet_regiis.

I recommend using the built-in IIS that comes with VS 2005 and VS 2008 while developing.

Cheers!

-Frinny
Mar 19 '08 #13
ThomasLa36
3 New Member
There shouldn't be any problem with you having more than one VS version installed on the same computer. You have to make sure that your IIS is set up to run with the Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 in order to use VS 2003.

To delete the ASPNET user:
  • Open Control Panel
  • Open User Accounts
  • Find ASPNET and click the Remove button

Then make sure you go to your .NET Framework version 1.1 folder and run the aspnet_regiis -i.

Just be aware that you may run into problems running your VS 2005 and VS 2008 web projects on the IIS after you run the aspnet_regiis.

I recommend using the built-in IIS that comes with VS 2005 and VS 2008 while developing.

Cheers!

-Frinny

There is No ASP.NET user in User Accounts. So now what can i do?

Tom
Mar 19 '08 #14
ThomasLa36
3 New Member
There is No ASP.NET user in User Accounts. So now what can i do?

Tom
I should also mention I am running Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 2 with all updates. I get the same error with Visual Studio 2002.


Tom
Mar 19 '08 #15
Frinavale
9,735 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
I should also mention I am running Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 2 with all updates. I get the same error with Visual Studio 2002.


Tom
Have you tried going to the .NET Framework version 1.1 folder and running the aspnet_regiis?

This will create an ASPNET user and configure your IIS to use it.

Oh, wait , do you have IIS installed?
Mar 20 '08 #16
Thank you.
That's was my problem too.
Nov 25 '10 #17

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
by: Raziel? | last post by:
Greetings, When Installing Visual Studio .NET the following error occurs: Internal Error 25300 I've tried setup in safemode and the same error occurs. The disk is brand new and clean.
6
by: Martin Bless | last post by:
The good news: Along with Python-2.4 comes really good news to Windows users. Yes, you now CAN build extension modules yourself using the SAME C++ compiler and linker Python is built with...
0
by: Tom Lee | last post by:
Hi, I'm new to .NET 2003 compiler. When I tried to compile my program using DEBUG mode, I got the following errors in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7 \include\xdebug...
1
by: Don Miller | last post by:
On a new install of Visual Studio, it worked most of the day, then I did something (deleted a web folder??? or files) and now when I try to create a new project (New Project->ASP.NET Web...
1
by: gerr | last post by:
Visual studio 2003 "HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error" when trying to create a new Asp.net site with Visual Studio 2003 on localServer/IIS 5.1. Anyone have any new solutions or urls to point me...
1
by: gerr | last post by:
Visual studio 2003 "HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error" when trying to create a new Asp.net site with Visual Studio 2003 on localServer XP Pro/IIS 5.1. Everything worked fine prior to installing...
6
by: JonSteng | last post by:
..Net Visual Studio Professional 2003 Version 7.1.3088 ..Net Framework 1.1 SP1 Version 1.1.4322 IIS 5.1 Windows XP Professional SP2 Micron T3000 Laptop (1.5 GHz; 1GB RAM; 40GB HD with 17GB Free)...
12
by: Nathan Sokalski | last post by:
I recently upgraded to from Visual Studio .NET 2003 to Visual Studio .NET 2005. In Visual Studio .NET 2003 when I would select 'Build' it would add a *.dll with the name of the Project to a /bin/...
18
by: surfrat_ | last post by:
Hi, I am having the following problems in getting Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Professional to link to an Access .mdb database. Please help me to sort this out. Problem 1: The Microsoft...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
1
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The...
0
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
0
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated ...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.