473,404 Members | 2,114 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,404 software developers and data experts.

How to limit users to manipulating data only through forms.

Hi all,

I am really new to the use of Access, or rather, the work dealing with codes and applications. Now I am working with this huge Access 2003 database. How can I possibly create some interface or other means to limit other users to modifying data only through forms. Is there any resource of relevant algorithm or codes that I can look up to? Thank you all...

xiaowei
Jun 6 '07 #1
9 7823
maxamis4
295 Expert 100+
Well there are many ways to limit users. I could give you several links and references to what you need to learn. But I need more information to guide you in the right direction.

You could split the database, tables in one database and forms in another (best practice)

you could create security using access secuirty

you could use active directory

and there are a couple more. What exactly do you want to d?

let me know
Jun 6 '07 #2
jamjar
I'm interested in seeing the advice you receive ....

I think it could be done with a Access security on a front-end/back-end set up, and all users prevented from writing to the back end tables (if not, they could always link in from another database), in which case you would set up front end forms based on "Run With Owner's Permission" queries to enable updating and entry of data.

How much of this is familiar to you?

James
Jun 6 '07 #3
xiaowei
Thank you both.