473,323 Members | 1,560 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,323 software developers and data experts.

PHP and exceptions. Your opinion?

Atli
5,058 Expert 4TB
Hi.

I'm a C# programmer by nature so I'm kind of used to using Exceptions and I'm currently working on a PHP project that I've written in a .Net style, using Exceptions ,objects and naming styles like I would in C#.

None of the original PHP functions or objects use the Exception system. They are written to return error codes or boolean values rather then throw exceptions.
This is obviously the 'default' way of coding PHP, and I doubt many people use the Exception system, except 'C like' coders like myself, which would create problems if someone other than myself were to use my code.

I'm just wandering what you guys think.
Does anybody use Exceptions other than me? Should I just give it a rest and try to follow the PHP way of doing things?

And more importantly; is there any clear advantage/disadvantage of using Exceptions that you know of?
Jul 3 '07 #1
10 1720
kovik
1,044 Expert 1GB
No, the only reason PHP didn't use exceptions is because PHP didn't have exceptions. Though it is mostly reserved to the more experienced programmers so far (as it is new to the language), I highly recommend their use. There are no clear disadvantages to their use other than if you don't catch the exception, then you have an uncaught exception.

However, I don't see you leaving them uncaught. ;)
Jul 3 '07 #2
pbmods
5,821 Expert 4TB
I'm not a fan because they break so many rules.

First off, when you throw an exception, your code halts, and the catch block (which might be located outside the procedure that threw the exception) gets executed. This doesn't make sense to me, because exception recovery should be handled within the context of that exception (Demeter's Law and the basic premise behind OOP).