473,385 Members | 2,069 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,385 software developers and data experts.

Spreadsheet::WriteExcel - Writing into existing file

hi,

I am very new to perl.I have written a perl script which is writing data into an excel file.The problem is that it is creating one new excel file while executing but my need id to write into an existing .xls file.
currently I am using:
my $workbook = Spreadsheet::WriteExcel::Big->new("file.xls");
for that which method Should I use??
can anyone please help me...

Thanks

Rasmia
Aug 13 '07 #1
5 11031
Have you tried using Spreadsheet::ParseExcel to read out the data, and then use WriteExcel to put it all back into another new file?

It's a bit of a drag, but the only other way I know how to do it is to use Win32::OLE which is (IMHO) much more awkward.

Andy
Aug 13 '07 #2
Thank You Andy..Due to our internal system problem I hav not tried Spreadsheet::ParseExcel .I am writing the perl script which will run on the Solaries environment.Will Win32::OLE work there???

My code is...

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. use strict;
  2. use File::Copy;
  3. use File::Path;
  4. use File::Basename;
  5. use Spreadsheet::WriteExcel::Big;
  6. use Data::Dumper;
  8. my $wrksheet = "Details";
  9. my $sheet_name;
  10. my $excel_look;
  11. my $v_name = "Shilpy";
  12. my $v_empid= 194050;
  13. #my $sFile = "test1.xls";
  14. my $workbook = Spreadsheet::WriteExcel::Big->new("file.xls");
  15. my $worksheet = $workbook->add_worksheet("Details");
  17. #$sheet_name = $excel_sheet->addworksheet($wrksheet);
  18. $excel_look = $workbook->addformat();
  19. $excel_look->set_size(10);
  20. $excel_look->set_color('black');
  21. $excel_look->set_align('center');
  22. $excel_look->set_font('Arial');
  24. $worksheet->activate();
  25. $worksheet->write(0,0,"Name",$excel_look);