473,398 Members | 2,343 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,398 software developers and data experts.

Issue with Select not returning data to recordset

I am somewhat new to Access and I am trying to create a recordset to get data from the local access db. I get an error stating "Either BOF or EOF is True, or the current record has benn deleted..." I know the query I am selecting from has data as I run the same query in the query editor and get data. Please let me know what I am doing wrong. (Using Access 2003) The test function is listed below:

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Public Function test1() As Integer
  2. On Error GoTo Err_test1
  4. Dim rst1 As ADODB.Recordset
  5. Set rst1 = New ADODB.Recordset
  7. strSQLStmt = "SELECT SystemAcronym, Control_ID, RA_Likelihood, RA_Impact, " & _
  8.              "RA_Risk, RA_Title, RA_Summary, RA_TandVAssessment, RA_Recommendation " & _
  9.              "FROM qryTechWriteUps;"
  12.     With rst1
  13.         .Source = strSQLStmt
  14.         .ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
  15.         .Open Options:=adCmdTxt
  16.         .MoveFirst
  17.     End With
  19.     MsgBox rst1!SystemAcronym
  21. Exit_test1:
  22.     Set rst1 = Nothing
  23.     Exit Function
  25. Err_test1:
  26.     MsgBox Err.Number & "~" & Err.Description & "~" & Err.Source
  27.     Resume Exit_test1
  29. End Function
Sep 17 '07 #1
7 3826
FishVal
2,653 Expert 2GB
Hi, Chris.

Your code has to work as soon as query returns records.
I've not reproduced your situation.
Did you tried to run exactly the same string in query editor?
Sep 17 '07 #2
I did a copy and paste into the query editor, removed the quotes and line breaks and it returns 2 rows. I have been beating my head against the wall trying to figure this out.

Hi, Chris.

Your code has to work as soon as query returns records.