473,320 Members | 1,979 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,320 software developers and data experts.

Checking for excessive input when using fgets()

Hi All,

I am very new to C and have been working my way through a few C books with the aim of getting more knowledge in programming. However I have hit a wall and I am not sure how to get over it.

I have the following code, it is quite simple.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. #include <stdio.h>
  3. struct cat
  4. {
  5.      int age;
  6.      int height;
  7.      char name[20];
  8.      char father[20];
  9.      char mother[20];
  10. };
  13. int main()
  14. {
  16.    struct cat myCat[2];
  17.    int i = 0;
  19.    for(i = 0; i < 2 ; i++ )
  20.    {
  21.     printf("What is your cats name?\n");
  22.     fgets(myCat[i].name, 20, stdin);
  23.    }
  25.   for(i = 0; i < 2 ; i++ )
  26.    {
  27.     printf("%s", myCat[i].name);
  28.    }
  30. return 0;
  31. }
I understand how this code works without any problems. I do have issues regarding input though.

If I enter more that the allowed characters using the fgets function then the first myCat.name[i] is terminated with \0, this is what I would expect. The problem is that the STDIO buffer retains my extra input and enters it into the next fgets() function. How can I stop this?

Also how can I do some error checking on the fgets() functions to see if the user entered more than needed input and consequentaly reset the character array before asking them again?

I was thinking of finding the character array length and if it is equal to 19 checking the last element for the \0 terminator? I think this would do it but I am unsure how to clear the array so that it is empty and does not contain "junk" data.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Oct 23 '07 #1
7 14656
gpraghuram
1,275 Expert 1GB
Hi All,