473,378 Members | 1,156 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,378 software developers and data experts.

program on character

Hello,
i am new to java and i am not able to do the following program. If anybody can help me it will be very helpful to me. the program is to be done without using array . the program question is

" use a method named design which states a integer argument between 1 and 9 and print the following matter as shown below

ex: for integer argument = 4
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. abcdcba
  2. abc cba
  3. ab   ba 
  4. a     a
  5. ab   ba
  6. abc cba
  7. abcdcba
Oct 27 '07 #1
2 2463
Ganon11
3,652 Expert 2GB
Looks like you'll have to use some tricky manipulation of for loops. A hint: Just because most for...loops use an int to control, doesn't mean you can't use another variable type...like a char. For instance, this loop prints the alphabet:

1. for (char ch = 'a'; ch <= 'z'; ch++)
  2.    System.out.print(ch);
Oct 27 '07 #2
JosAH
11,448 Expert 8TB
Hello,
i am new to java and i am not able to do the following program. If anybody can help me it will be very helpful to me. the program is to be done without using array . the program question is

" use a method named design which states a integer argument between 1 and 9 and print the following matter as shown below

ex: for integer argument = 4
  1. abcdcba
  2. abc cba
  3. ab   ba 
  4. a     a
  5. ab   ba
  6. abc cba
  7. abcdcba
If you interpret that little square a an x,y grid with 0,0 in the middle of that square,
and the square has size 2*N-1 (N given by the user) you can loop in both directions
in the range [-N+1, N-1] (e.g. N == 4, loop in the range [-3, 3]).

Ignoring those spaces for the moment you have to print the character
'a'+N-1-abs(x), i.e. the y value has nothing to do with it.