473,461 Members | 1,862 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Create Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Interfacing with Cisco Routers

I have a project to Interface Cisco Routers with python i.e. the program should display a list of IP addresses and then a list of commands...the user should be able to select the IP address and then the commands to run on the routers and then the script should return the result and run commands on routers.

What path should i follow to solve this problem. I am a beginner of Python but this project is a must do for me so guys please advsise
Dec 14 '07 #1
2 2852
oler1s
671 Expert 512MB
Your first question should be how you could possibly interface with a Cisco router through python. Forget python for a moment, and ask how would a person manually interface with the routers. Also ask if the routers have any provisions to be exposed to a program. Do they provide a small library that can be used to manipulate them or the like?
Dec 14 '07 #2
Sorry Oler, I was just confused and didn't think much before putting up the question. A person can manually interace with the router through serial port or can use Telnet the router by its IP address using the Ethernet port by another PC.

Can we access routers through any program and do the routers have some sort of library to manipulate them?

again sorry for not putting up the questions the right way :)
Dec 14 '07 #3

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

by: NewsReader | last post by:
Hello, I have been looking around the net for a script to help me connect to and help gather information from Cisco routers/switches. I have pieced together a couple of different scripts from...
usafshah
by: usafshah | last post by:
well i didn't find any section related to cisco routers. i think it will be more helpful for ppl like me if you included cisco routers section in this community also. Thanks
by: wcl152010 | last post by: