473,324 Members | 2,456 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,324 software developers and data experts.

Copy Record Structure (Related Records)

Hello, this was particularly helpful to me as well so thank you very much.

I'm new to using Access 2003, and I have a slight twist to this question; I've been asked to make this particular button create several child records that share several of the parent's base traits.

While it's simple enough to just duplicate and loop according to the number of records the user requests, I'm unfamiliar with the steps to take from here.

The fields that DO change are my problem:

One field is an identifier. The parent's identifier would have to be changed from say, 123, to 123.1, 123.2 and so on for the children. I could use the user's input and the loop to get the number, but I confess that I really don't know how to directly modify data within the recordset using VB.

For the remaining fields that see changes, I need to I believe I need to add an input dialog for the user for each record (also in the loop presumably). I honestly have no idea what the code used here is.

I have read a number of articles on the site, but I'm sorry to say I haven't found answers to the problems above yet. If this has already been addressed, please point me in the direction. I would be most grateful for any suggestions. Thank you!
Feb 27 '08 #1
29 8920
NeoPa
32,556 Expert Mod 16PB
I've had to split this post into a separate thread as thread hijacking is not allowed on this site. As a new member it's understandable but please review the Help section at the top right for site Dos & Don'ts.

The original thread can be found at using command button to copy record in a form.
Feb 27 '08 #2
NeoPa
32,556 Expert Mod 16PB