473,432 Members | 1,414 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,432 software developers and data experts.

gcd method

I'm very new to Java and I was looking for some help on this particular problem.

I need to create a method that takes a String as a parameter and returns "true" if the parameter is the letter Y or the letter N (in either upper or lower case), or false otherwise.

Most of the methods we've been working on are numbers (integers mostly) not strings, so this one confuses me quite a bit. How do you make the computer look for a certain character like y, Y, n, N. I don't want to declare them as variables, I just want Java to see them as letters.

I have:
public static boolean isYorN(String str)
{
boolean character;
switch (character)
{
case 'y':
character = true;
return true;
break;

case 'Y':
character = true;
return true;
break;

case 'n':
character = true;
return true;
break;

case 'N':
character = true;
return true;
break;

default:
character = false;
return false;

}
}
}

I think a switch case is the best method, but I'm missing something about naming because all my compiling errors are telling me that I have incompatible types (i.e. found: boolean, required: int).

Thank you in advance for any help.
May 23 '07 #1
11 3237
sicarie
4,677 Expert Mod 4TB
I believe the errors are coming from the fact that you are using 'Y', 'y', 'N', and 'n' as the cases, when you tell the switch statement (swtich (character)) that it should expect a boolean - either a true or a false.

I would recommend using the .equals() function in the String class. That returns a boolean, so you can resolve it as being either true or false (use the fact that it will return as either true or false).

(And in future posts, please use [code ] and [/code ] around your code - only without the spaces at the end, it really helps with readability. Thanks!)
May 23 '07 #2